Change the Food, Change Everything Cafe and Market Garden Open for Business!

by Eduardo Dominguez and Alison Armand

Alison: I’ve been friends with Cindy for 10 years. I knew that she was doing this school project. Every year, College Park has a Pops Picnic put on by the College Park High School Music Department. College Park is a neighborhood in Pleasant Hill, it’s near Diablo Valley College Last year, everybody had to rush and do their picnic. We thought it would be a good idea to provide meals for busy families. First I looked up Cindy’s restaurant, meals were $11.99, then I looked up Panera, $9.99. I didn’t know if would be possible for the school to do it. She said come on over.

I thought it would be neat to work together. We’re all in the same school district. We shouldn’t be like islands. I would like it if the class could come to the concert.

Eduardo: I dislocated my wrist in a bike accident, so I can’t really cook. So today, Chef Cindy and I helped Alison come up with a menu for the event. We chose three items: one sandwich, one salad and one vegetarian option:
1. Sesame Ginger Salad with Carrots and Napa Cabbage, with a brown rice cake.
2. Vegetarian Hummus Wrap with Avocado with Sprouts and Spinach
3. Open Face Roasted Vegetables with Tuna/Egg Salad.
We’ll serve fresh fruit with everything.

This was the first time I’ve come up with a menu like this. It wasn’t hard because Chef Cindy knows what she’s doing. And it’s really plain and simple, which is what people want.

Here's Eduardo, holding up the menu. See his arm?! Ouch!

Here’s Eduardo, holding up the menu. See his arm?! Ouch!

Alison: We’re not sure how many we’re going to order, maybe 50 to 75. They’re going to figure out how much it is. Cindy said the price would be around $5. We’ll sell it for a little more. It will be our fundraiser.

This new room is impressive! When I was in home ec, there was a mirror, and now there’s a screen.

The energy’s good. Everyone’s involved.

Eduardo: I’m looking forward to going to the concert!

Alison: We’re going to come back on April 26th, for a taste test. I’m going bring the head of the College Park Instrumental Music Boosters. We’re looking forward.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change the Food, Change Everything Cafe and Market Garden Open for Business!

  1. Pingback: Ground Z Cafe and Market Garden Open for Business! | Wellness City Challenge

Leave a Reply

